I have suffered from gout for over 2 years and I'm on allinpurinol 600mg a day

Posted , 8 users are following.

I have suffered with gout in right knee for over two years and I am on medication with the occasional flare up. Since yesterday my left knee has become very painful and swollen, and the symptoms  appear to be the same, could it be possible to have gout in this joint as well?  I have never missed taking my allinpurinol . The pain is excruciating , I have not had any trauma to the knee, Thankyou any advice, help would be gratefully received 

0 likes, 31 replies

31 Replies

Next
  • Posted

If the medication is still giving you occasional flare ups, then chances are that your left knee is suffering from the same type of inflammation. I'm no expert but being a gout victim since I was 14, gout can flare up anywhere even with medication. Talk to your doctor about it, he/she should be able to tell if it's gout.  An examine will determine if it's something else. Best of luck.

• Posted

I certainly is possible that you're experiencing gout in the left knee. I've had it for 20 years and in the beginning, it just hit my large toe in the right foot. It progressively has worked through almost all of my toes and one ankle. Once in a while, I'll get it in the fingers. I'm not on medication as I have other conditions that prevent me from taking them. I can't even take pain medication or steroids...I just suffer for a month.

Allopurinol is a pretty heavy duty drug. Are you being monitored for uric acid levels? Even a spike downward can trigger an attack. Would definitely seek the advice of a physician.

Best wishes, I know how agonizing the pain is.

• Posted