I have suffered from PHN now for around 8 Years,I feel t...

Posted , 3 users are following.

I have suffered from PHN now for around 8 Years,I feel the pain now constantly at a low level even when in bed. The pain increases with stress or at the end of the working day (i work in the plastic toolmaking industry). Every evening the only way I can get relief from the pain is to wear no clothing above the waist and sit or lay under a quilt from the bed which I hold away from my body in order to keep the affected area warm.

I take Dihydrocodein and Citalopram daily. Although you state that antidepressants are only for the pain I find without them I get very depressed due to the constant pain on a daily basis. I can honestly say after the last 8 years that PHN has ruined my life and is the deciding factor on what I can do with my time away from work.

[i:68ea8073c1]This message was automatically imported from the original Patient Experience[/i:68ea8073c1]

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Welcome to my world. Lyrics and rhyzolt. Is the best combo. Twice a day!
  • Posted

Welcome to my world. Lyrics and rhyzolt. Is the best combo. Twice a day!
    • Posted

I'm in your world! I take Gabapentin ands tramadol during the day, Elavil and clonazapam with the gabapentin at night. Still doesn't take away the pain, just helps me deal with it I guess. Is the lyrica better? What is Rhyzolt??
  • Posted

I am an 80 year male and have suffered from PHN for two years. The affected area extends from my right nipple, under my armpit and across my back to my spine. Anything touching the area lightly sets off severe pain as if I am being stabbed repeatedly with a needle together with a prickly pain as if I had dried thistles under my shirt.