i just got diagnosed with pcos

Posted , 2 users are following.

hi, ive just had all my test results back and i do indeed have pcos i need to go back to doctors to talk more in depth about it and probably get medication? i dont really know much about pcos and i do think people should be more aware of it..im only know just coming to learn about it.. . im only 21.. i was just wondering what anyone could tell me about it like hows best to diet etc?? i feel much more comfortable asking on here than to ask my doctor.. i do have anxiety so i struggle with alot of things.. 

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted

Hi I was in the same spot as you last year (I’m 22 now and also struggle with anxiety). It’s been hard to know the do’s and don’ts especially since there is a lot of uncertainty still. Even a year later I’m still learning new things about how to help my body overcome pcos. I would first suggest deciding how you want to go about treating it: with western medicine or with more homeopathic/holistic treatments (like major lifestyle changes). Woman have had success with BOTH ways. But I will tell you my opinion for what I want to do for my body..

I decided that I wanted to do a combination of both. Western medicines to treat pcos (primarily birth control pills, metformin, spironolactone, rogaine, etc) are great for blocking the SYMPTOMS of pcos like hair loss, acne, irregular menstrual cycle, anxiety. However, I believe (as do many others) that they do not get to the root of the problem as quickly as major lifestyle changes can. It’s like placing a bandaid over an infection without treating it from the inside out. If you are feeling anxious about the SYMPTOMS that you are experiencing getting worse, I would suggest those medicines. That is why I decided to take them as I didn’t want my hair loss to get worse and I also wanted my period back (even if it wasn’t naturally).