I just had a HoLAP for my BPH

Posted , 13 users are following.

Two days ago I had a HoLAP procedure for my 44 gm BPH prostate. HoLAP is Holmium Laser Ablation of the prostate. Similar but less aggressive than HoLEP which is Holmium Laser Enucleation of the prostate. I was told if my prostate was somewhat larger, the HoLEP would be a better surgery for me.

I've been researching treatments for BPH for some 2 years now - from TURP, to GreenLight Laser, PAE, Urolift, PVR, Rezum, FLA (Focal Laser Ablation), etc. I found a Dr. Dora who trained at the Mayo Clinic, and who now works at the Mayo Clinic in Florida. I observed him doing a HoLEP on youtube and was impressed with his expertise. It was a 5 hour drive from my home. I met him in April and was extremely impressed with him and the Mayo Clinic facility and staff.

So 2 days ago I checked into the Mayo Clinic, had my HoLAP surgery, and left with a Foley catheter, going back to our hotel room after we had dinner at Ruby Tuesday's. Estimated blood loss was 5 ccs. Then yesterday, we returned to Mayo to have the catheter removed and to check my residual urine which was 54 ccs. I'm now home, doing well. Urine is clear (Bluish color due to some prescribed drug called Uribel) but no blood or clots are evident.

My impression is that HoLAP is similar to (FLA) Focal Laser Ablation, in that a laser is used to ablate (destroy) the prostate tissue with a laser wire that is poked into the prostate. The difference is that in HoLAP the laser wire is poked into the prostate through the urethra by a urologist, while with FLA, the laser wire is poked into the prostate through the rectum wall by an interventional radiologist using MRI guidance.

I'll keep you all informed of how I do in the upcoming weeks. So far so good. 😃

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted