i just had bunion surgery and its been 5 days now need opinions

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi everyone, i just had bunion surgery on my left foot, its been 5. Days and trying to elevate as always, now i am just taking vicodin as needed coz i don't feel i need it every 6 hrs for the 1st 3 days. I was supposed to come back to change the dressing but unfortunately they cancelled me and no one can see me till Monday. I just want to know if its fine? And how do they change the dressing? The Dr. told me before the surgery that he close the incision with plastic surgery, so idk if there are still sutures to be taken out? If yes, do they put a numbing cream? Will it hurt? And btw, i work as a dental assistant and i have to go back in 2 weeks so that includes the week of my surgery. If anyone can give me any idea. Thanks will appreciate any response.

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Joy. I think it's very different depending on what exactly has been done to your foot (screws etc). But I think the dressing will be fine unless there is blood through. I had my on 14 days, untill stiches were taken – and that hurt! I would ask for numbing creme! About taken painkillers, remebmer that it's part of the treatment as it's intiimflammatoric (we don't have Vicodin in Denmark, you would should maybe check for that). I was given severel different painkillers because of that and was told to take even though the pain was not so bad for 5 days, thers longer if you check this Forum.

2 weeks sound fast, the problem for me (now 5. weeks post-op) is the swelling and hurting when my foot is not elevated, but this is very different from person to person, so maybe fine for you. Consider a compression sock - maybe are ones without toes- when you go back to work. Happy healing :-)

• Posted

Hi thanks for the response, i