I'm 1 month abstinent, with campral & learning cbt tools & strategies through Smart recovery

Posted , 10 users are following.

I'm in a bit of a quandary, basically I've been drinking heavily every night for approx 15 years. About a year ago, I realised, with my gp's persuasion that I had to do something, instead of just thinking about it. So have been attending my local alcohol unit for over a year every fortnight, trained professionals & peers also run a smart recovery group, which I wasn't keen on attending as I thought it would be just another form of AA, which is not for me, on so many levels, but that's a different story. Smart is just cbt, no labels, no faith or higher power, it works for me, and I can attend meetings anonymously online, which I really like, but we are all different. It's taken a while for everything to start falling into place for me, I tried moderation, not drinking through the week etc, but I found I wasn't ever free from the hold alcohol had over me, and even though I wasn't consuming alcohol, I was still thinking about it, and constantly having an internal battle in my head. I just didn't seem able to go a weekend without having a drink, and this was really getting me anxious. As per the normal, my gp had never heard of TSM, and even though I presented him with the nice guidelines and all relevant paperwork for prescribing Nalmafene, I was told I would have to speak to my alcohol worker about it, which I did, but she couldn't prescribe it and said I would need an appointment with the head of the unit, which takes months. Anyway in the meantime my own gp agreed to try me on Campral as I had been sober for over a week and was determined and desperate to keep it going. It really seems to have made a massive difference to me, it's been a month now since I've had a drink, and the smart online meetings keep me focused and motivated. Anyway today was my long awaited appointment with the head doctor, and he has recommended Nalmafene be prescrib