I'm a 47 yr. old African-American female. I did not kno...

Posted , 1 user is following.

I'm a 47 yr. old African-American female. I did not know that I had a toxic Goiter until June '05. Fortunately for me, my doctor was writing down my answers to questions about another condition I was having. As he was asking me questions, he looked me in my eye. He studied my face as I was talking. After I finished one of my lengthy explanations regarding his question, he asked me if I had a Goiter. Although I was new to this doctor as a patient, I was still upset about the fact that the last doctor that I had been visiting for at least 3 yrs, never noticed.

When I told him that I didn't know, he then proceeded to examine my neck. He told me that he was very sure that I had a Goiter and that it was rather large. He wanted it looked at by x-ray and ultrasound immediately. The x-ray was uneventful but the ultrasound was not as forgiving. He confirmed my doctor's suspicions and also raised the bar of concern by showing that on my left side, I had several cysts. On the right, there were at least 4 large "nodules".

My doctor then wanted to know the status of the "nodules". Were they benign (as he suspected), or were they malignant. He was very honest with me when he informed that that if indeed they were malignant, they would want to be starting my treatment as soon as humanly possible.