I'm a teacher on the autism spectrum, or suspected autism spectrum, and I want advice

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi, 

I was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder shortly before I received my master's degree. 

I went to school to become a teacher and did pretty well in college, but I'm finding out that the job is a lot more difficult than I thought it was. Even at a relatively good school, I've found ways to struggle. 

At this particular place, I couldn't figure out how to teach the curriculum. I didn't understand the lesson plans (it was only seventh grade English), and I often prepared and taught lessons that were probably over the students' heads. I also didn't use proper engagement techniques. They eventually put an aide in the classroom with me and gave her all of the teaching responsibilities. I feel terrible about all of this. Here I am with a master's degree, and I can't do my job. What is wrong with me? 

This and other failed employment experiences make me wonder if I could ever be gainfully employed at all. I sometimes just don't know how to relate to people. I'm afraid or unsure how to ask questions in training situations, so I miss the information I need. I'm not always sure how to explain things so that they are less complicated. I basically fail at every "soft skill" a person needs to hold down a good job and be successful. 

I especially don't know how to deal with people who are going through trouble, like broken homes, sick parents, prolonged illness, etc. 

If anyone has any advice, I would appreciate it. 

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Perhaps I should clarify. I wasn't having trouble with the subject; I was having trouble understanding what I was supposed to teach, as I couldn't really understand the pacing guide. 

• Posted

Anyway, I'm just looking for something someone like me can do. I put a lot of time, money, and effort into becoming certified as a teacher, only to find out it's not really a job I can do. 

• Posted