I'm looking a biceps tenodesis right in the face - I don't know if it's the best option.. yet.

Posted , 4 users are following.

I'm a 21 almost 22 year old female. I've been suffering from shoulder pain for the past idk 8+ weeks.

Here's how it all started:

I suddenly had a onset of shoulder pain in my left shoulder. It felt like I slept on it funny the night before but it got progressively worse. Stiff, muscle spasms, weakness etc. I went to my PCP and told him what was going on. I'm a ft student and I work part time in a sports bar as a server. I thought it may have been an overuse thing from carrying 10-12lb trays on that arm. He diagnosed me with muscle spasms and sent me on to ortho.

I didn't play around, I went to a shoulder surgeon. He looked at me and suspected a SLAP tear involving the biceps anchor (my biceps tendon isn't stable. It flips and it flops). He suggested we try PT for 4 weeks since it was a new problem. I went to PT with a specialized shoulder therapist. It was terrible. I went 2x a week and ended up having to do isometric contractions since the pain became unbearable and my arm couldn't do more than 3-5 reps without getting tired and sloppy. This agony continues for 3 weeks until my therapist called my surgeon and said we need to do an MRI. He agreed, wrote the script. They wanted to do an athrogram. I said no way to it unless they knock me out. They said no. So I went with a regular MRI - no contrast. Shockingly but I guess not too too surprising since it had its limitations , it came back relatively normal. Except excessive fluid coming from an unknown place.