I’m new, Help!

Posted , 5 users are following.

I’m new to this and I need Hekp! I got shingles on my face in July, now I’m left with post heretic Neuralgia, Trigeminal Neuralgia on the right side. The areas of pain from most to least are my teeth, cheek, temple, forehead. Please help me to know WHAT MAKES IT WORSE & WHAT HELPS. Please, any help is appreciated! 

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

My first post had so many spelling errors. Sorry, pain! Anyway I’m new to this. Left with Trigeminal Neuralgia after had shingles. Right side teeth worst! Then cheek then temple then forehead. I feel like it’s gettibg even more sensitive. I need help lease. What things can you do to make it worse? What things can you do to make it better? Which Treatments & Medicine’s  helpful? All info is soooo appreciated. 

• Posted

I don't know about shingles. The only medication that stopped the pain of trigeminal neuralgia for me was Tegritol (carbamazepine). You should talk to a neurologist about the proper medication. Tegritol worked very well for my pain for some 15 years until I had the MVD operation.

• Posted

He prescribed this. Haven’t picked it up. Any bad side effects? I can’t decide if taking it or Hydrocodone is worse for me. Want to be conservative. 
  • Posted

This is not medical advice. Hydrocodone is an opioid with terrible side effects and in my experience will have little effect on TN. It is also addictive. Tegritol is effective but does have side effects. You can look them up,
  • Posted

What you're describing is the same thing that happened to me.  

I'm not a professional or an expert but I've  heard that you should not drink alcohol or have junk food when you have shingles because the herpes zoster thrives on it.   I follow the same rule with PHN. 

I heard that you should not have soy so I cut it out of my diet.  

I have been carrying an ice pack.