I might have more than just Diverticular Disease and I'm very sad.

Posted , 6 users are following.

I've got DD and might have Coeliac disease as well and probably a lactose intolerance. What am I supposed to eat? I'm always crying, am literally fading away and in some sort of pain all the time. My life is going to be so difficult from now on and I'm a secondary teacher as well, so that's very stressful too. I want to leave teaching; I think it has done this to me. I'd rather be poor and get better but my husband (who is also vry stressd) doesn't want me to go part time even. My sister's getting married in September. I won't be able to toast her marriage, eat any of the food or have fun. I missed my daughter's 7th birthday because I was in hospital adn I'm worried I'll miss my toddler's birthday too. I spent Xmas and half term in hospital.

Just want sympathy. I'm so sad.

1 like, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi there

Your going through a life changing situation and there will be a period of grieving for your old uncomplicated self. But all is not lost-you

have to get a little control over things. 1st A Food Diary, everything

eaten and your reaction in the next 24hours. Look on the net for

lactose free and alchaline diets ( sometimes these illnesses can

create an acid environment). Try soya products and supermarkets do a "free from" range. Meditation ia an excellent tool for you. Help to

de-stress and some time just for yourself. This is not an overnight

thing it is going to take time. A spponfull of Manuka honey and

lactose free probiotics everyday for a year helped me a little. I had a diverticular mass which had attached itself to my pelvis. Have lost

quite a bit of colon and total hysterectomy. At first I was like you with almost nothing to eat. After my system rested I bega to introduce some foods with trial and error. Tell everyone you work with, tell your