I've been anxious for two months and counting, please help!

Posted , 4 users are following.

Im a sophomore in college, 19, and my anxiety started to kick in towards the beginning of September and continued on. So this past Friday I went to the doctor and he said we should try counseling. And so I asked about meds and counseling and he was fine with it.

He prescribed me with Citalopram 10 mg. I took it last night at 11 and fell asleep immediately.. then what felt like hours! It was only 1 in the morning... I was anxious, jittery, nauseous, confused, my heart was racing.

I didn't fall back asleep till 5 in the morning but even then it wasn't a peaceful sleep. And now here at almost 2 o'clock.. I feel still jittery (not as bad), nauseous (trying to eat some crackers), and my brain just kinda feels weird.

When will this go away? I'm not taking it again tonight.

And would counseling help better?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I was prescribed Citalpham during my last anxiety episode. I had to take a 2 week absence from work just to cope with the anxiety and the new meds. I am not sure if it was the meds or just time along with couseling that helped me recover from that episode but it took months. I have recently had another bout of anxiety and was given zoloft which also made me extremely sick.woke me up at 1 vomiting and extremely jittery and anxiety was through the roof. I stopped taking it. I am still struggling but hoping time will heal all and also doing yoga and couseling to see if that helps move things along. Best of luck, you are not alone.
    • Posted

I took them for 3 days and finally called it quits. It took a day to get out of my system. I still however struggle with anxiety.
  • Posted