I've been depressed for 2 weeks, what should I do?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi all.

I'm new to this so please be patient with me. Suffered AFib last April 2017 out of the blue and was put on Bisoporlol 1.25mg since. Suffered the usual Cold and tired but the last few weeks have been a nightmare. I'm gone so downhill and my mood has really suffered along with no sleep and feel like sometimes caught for breath. Feel light head and all doughy. Been around all the Docs in my clinic and I reckon at this stage they think I'm going nuts so much so they want me to start on anti depressants as he feels I'm mildly depressed. Any help or suggestions would be great at this point.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi

It seems that majority of people don't have any problems with Beta blockers, so docs are confused when some of us have huge problems.

I personally had exactly the same problems which you listed above (and I had none of them before drugs).

The worst for me was problems with breathing.

When I told that to my doc, they made lots of tests on my lungs, and lungs were fine.

They wanted to do more tests, but I gave up since I knew that a problem is not with my lungs but with Beta blockers, but they didn't believe me, since other people didn't report any problems with BBs to my doc.

I have later quit BBs and all problems have disappeared.

But you can't do that in your case.

Anyway, maybe you could try to ask for Nebivolol (a newer BB, it causes less problems with breathing, at least in my case, but it caused a lot of dizziness on the other hand. But dizziness was better than not being able to breathe for me.)

You are not crazy.

And don't take those Anti depressants.

Your depression and bad mood is caused:

1. by Bisoprolol/Beta Blockers, they affect brain and mood

2. by your problems with Bisoprolol, and then you feel even worse

That is all connected and a vicious circle.

• Posted