I've been dieting since August 2019 and losing my mind.

Posted , 2 users are following.

I was diagnosed with PCOS last year because I was having difficulty losing weight, the endocrinologist put me on 1500mg of Metformin to help. I am 23 if that helps.

I have been eating healthy the best I can (I have some intolerances that make me poorly sometimes), I don't eat junk apart from the occasional bit of chocolate and I drink plenty of water. I have a lot of will power when it comes to not eating the bad stuff. I walk everywhere unless it's to work and I was going to the gym for months last year before I had issues with my legs, I am looking to go back once the gyms have reopened (lockdown). I was doing what I could to lose weight and the metformin was supposed to help.

I have lost no weight and I've gained some instead, I have more weight than I did before I was diagnosed. Due to lockdown I've not had my next appointment with the endocrinologist and I really need help, this is all really getting to me and I feel fed up.

Has anyone had issues with Metformin? What has helped you lose weight with PCOS? Am I doing something wrong? Is there something I should be doing that I am not?

I am scared I will become diabetic.

TIA x

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted

what helps with losing weight with PCOS is giving up sugar and alcohol and sticking to a low gi diet with 1800 calories a day. Avoid trans fats too. Always check sugar content in everything you eat, a lot of diet products have sugar in. Avoid smoothies and fruit juices they can have a lot of sugar in. Only eat 1 sweet fruit a day, get the rest of your 5 a day from vegetables and salad.