I've been drinking everyday Monday through Sunday for almost 6 years...?

Posted , 6 users are following.

New to this and I've been back and forth looking at all these threads for months now. Let me tell you a little about myself...

I'm a two time combat (Marine) war veteran. I just turned 35 years old On Nov. 16th and been drinking too much almost everyday for the last 6 years. My daughter will be 6 yo on Dec. 29th and I remember starting drinking heavily right around the time she was born. I started with just drinking beer every night (6 to 8 beers) starting around 5pm till about 10 pm. I wake up at 4am to be at work at 5am. The weekends I would buy a 750ml bottle of Jameson and that would last me every 2 days. The beers slowly started getting less and less and found myself just drinking whisky every night. Fast forward 6 years later now I easily drink a pint of whisky and a 6 pack of ipa every night. Longest I've stopped has been about 20 days and then back in this never ending process. Symptoms I notice is my legs feel shaky and hands are a little shaky nothing crazy. I went to the doctor last month and doctor said I have high blood pressure. I did not tell her I drink that much..So taking some blood pressure medicine daily... I havent had a drink since 9pm last night and it is 1:50 pm now. I feel fine but like I said I have shaky legs and some stabbing pain in my kidney area once in a while. I guess I'm writing this to say "I give up" I'm tired and ready to move forward. I will not drink anything tonight and start this sobriety thing again. I'm just hoping it lasts longer than 20 days.... Wish me luck

2 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

A rainy Tuesday by Joseph