I've been hearing ringing one my left ear and i don't know if it is a sign of tinnitus?

Posted , 5 users are following.

I am a 21 year who just started hearing a soft consistent ringing sound almost like the soft hum of the refrigerator or kettle on my left ear. I do like to use earphones to listen to music while doing homework because i am a college student. Weeks before i experienced ringing in my left ear I was very sick, had a sore throat, then a fever, recovered, then had a stuffy nose and the common cold. About 2 weeks before I am not sure if it was a concussion but i was doing judo and practicing chokes. My arteries must have been blocked for too long while practing and started feeling dizzy. I experienced a horrible migraine and this led my sore throat into a fever. I was very stressed from school and had a hard time recovering from my cold that was the by-product of my fever. I am trying to think of possible reasons that coulf have caused my ear ringing symptoms and i hope it is not something serious and long term like tinnitus. I will make an appointment to see my family doctor to get it checked out but until then I don't know what to do and I am extremely worried I will hear ringing for the rest of my life.

1 like, 60 replies

60 Replies

• Posted

Hi Selina. It sounds like you have some form of Tinnitus, but don't worry, it's no allways permanent and can be caused from anything from dehydration too internal trauma. Does the hum sound like its coming from inside or outside your head? What kind of headphones do you wear, and how long/loud do you have them? As you have just come out of an illness, I would suggest that was the cause. Loud music and choke holds might not be helping wink

• Posted