I’ve been here before but ..

Posted , 8 users are following.

I have suffered with a panic disorder and generalised anxiety for about 12 years. During this time i have stopped and started Sertraline about 4 times, I've spent large amounts of time off of it because CBT therapy was enough.

Having to restart it again tonight and I'm terrified. I know that my side effects are always bad for about 2 weeks before i start to feel better again. They are just so debilitating, especially when I have a 3 year old to look after and I live alone with her.

I guess its less of a question, and more wondering if there is anyone out there who is going through a start up and willing to help each other through it when it gets bad?

sometimes its just comforting to know that there are others going through the exact same thing and that you're not alone and only a message away...

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi

I'm new to sertraline for crippling health anxiety. I've been on 25mg for a week now I have been on 50mg for 4 days. I was previously on fluoxetine and the start up on that was a lot worse than sertraline. The nausea, headaches, increased anxiety is bad but just remember it's only side effects. Today I have no side effects apart from little spikes in anxiety.

what mg are you starting on? You're not alone, even though it feels like it, lots of people are in the same boat and its a journey. I was scared to start taking sertraline because of the side effects but i was so bad before sertraline nothing could possibly be worse.

Hope this helps

• Posted

Hi Ashley

Thank you for the reply i really appreciate it.

Im glad that your side effects are lessening now thats great news. Will you stay at 50?

when youre in it, it feels like its lasting forever but i know theres light at the other end.

im currently taking 25mg and i will up to 50mg in about a week.

• Posted

Hi