I've diagnosed with Supraventricular Tachycardia, what is the ablation procedure like?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi everybody. I am currently a second year student in College. Around three or four years ago in high school gym class I began getting episodes of an insanely fast heart rate that would last for about half an hour. No big deal. The nurse told me it was just anxiety, so when they happened, which was about once a month or so, I would just leave gym class and go to the nurses office to wait it out.

Fast forward to last year, I began getting serious about my physical health and started lifting weights in college. I put on some sizable muscle but I continued to have SVT episodes that would last about an hour and my heart beat would be at around 235. Yes you read that right. One time it went on for an hour and a half and did not stop. I went to the ER and they did an EKG, or ECG whatever it is and sure enough, they confirmed it was SVT and my beat was at 235. I am twenty years old, relatively healthy and not overweight at all. But having this condition sucks because I can't push myself as hard as I want in the gym as I'm worried about getting another episode.

They told me about these vagal manuevers to do if it happens again. I am prescribed beta blockers, but all of these issues feel like bandaids over the real issue. I want to get the ablation but I'm terrified to do it. I've never been in surgery let alone for something related to my heart. I'm worried they might accidentally poke through the heart wall and then I need heart surgery and a pacemaker. What should I do? Beta blockers make me tired, I just wish I was normal. 😦

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

HI,

Ablation works best. I had to do it twice as the first one was not successful. Now I am all good. Don't worry about poking in your heart. I had it done at Sunnybrook hospital and doctors there are very good.

thanks

• Posted