I was diagnosed with Chronic Kidney Failure 4 months ago.. need advice

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello all, I am a 20 year old student, who has always had health issues, but 4 months ago I found out i have Chronic Kidney Disease, I have been put on 10mg of Ramipril... I just want some advice as I don't really know how to cope with this news, my friends don't understand so I haven't been able to get the support I need so I want to know how can I explain to my friends what CKD is and how it will affect me? 

Thanks x

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Jenny, I have CKD stage 3. It's hard to make people understand sometimes, unfortunately the words chronic kidney disease, in my opinion, makes the condition sounds worse than it is for me. Obviously others with the condition may feel differently. I think I'm one if the fortunate ones in that it doesn't affect my daily life at all, except for when taking ibrbrufen would help my back condition. I try to stay healthy and my meds are well controlled. You don't say what stage you are at/ if they found a cause and what if anything else they are doing for you, this might help others to give you some advice.

• Posted

Hi Louise, 

Thank you for replying,  I know what you mean CKD isn't the nicest name and it can sometimes make people feel weird when you say it. I don't know what stage I am at, I have always had kidney issues and from just a regular check up they found my kidney was struggling and protein was in my wee, so my kidney wasn't doing it's job properly, so the medication I'm on is trying to basically help my kidney for as long as possible, but I think by the sounds of it, I will at some point in my life have to have a kidney trasnplant. 

• Posted

Hi Jenny,