IBD and Orthopaedic Surgery

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have ulcerative colitis and currently in a mild flare. Consultant isn't too concerned and suggests increasing regular maintenance dose of 2.4g pd Octasa to 4.8g but no immuno suppressants at this stage.

Two weeks ago I had knee surgery by arthroscopy to repair damaged meniscus cartilage and am disappointed at the slow recovery. Still a lot of swelling around the joint and difficult to walk. I went to see the physio today to be checked over and for some reassurance that  nothing serious is wrong. She agreed that recovery is slower than expected and suggested it may be because of the IBD flare. That is making sense to me. Anyone else had this experience? I've had joint pain in the past with UC but that was to do with tapering off steroids. 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi, I have some experience of UC and know that DVT can be a problem with IBD sufferers so worth knowing about it. There is research to be found on the internet. IBD can affect blood clotting in the veins which can lead to swelling, needs to be taken into account where surgery or damage to the blood vessels has occurred. Worth asking your doctor about. 
  • Posted

I've had UC for around 13 years and haven't had a bad flare up in around 9 years (no medication - controlled completely through diet). I had ankle reconstruction surgery last year in April and suffered a DVT leading to a pulmonary embolism around 6 weeks following surgery. My surgery recovery was slow and i was non weight bearing for 6 weeks which would have been the main cause coupled with the fact i have an IBD. Anyway, please keep mobile, do all exercises prescribed and persist with it. I was only cleared to start running following my surgery end of May so 14 months of rehab (also the day before i went in for a shoulder reconstruction...)

• Posted