IBS, it can get better.

Posted , 9 users are following.

For all of you who have recently been diagnosed with IBS or maybe think you may have it, I know exactly what your going through. 

I'm 20 now, and I got diagnosed with IBS when o was doing my GCSE's at the age of 15. 

I understand the pain that some of you might be going through.  

What you should understand that IBS is common on alot of people,  so there is someone who is out there who can always help.  One of the main factors to trigger IBS or cause a 'flare' up is stress, this is very close to home for me. I'm a student at university and I've found it hard to this day. 

You do need to control what you eat, and learn to find out what you can tolerate and what you can't, this makes it easier to 'handle' - for example when I know I'm in a stressful situation I stay away from: 

⭕Dairy - milk and cheese mainly 

⭕Spicy foods - anything with chilli in it, curries were my main problem.  

⭕ Fish - most fish EXCEPT tuna. 

⭕Greasy foods such as fried chicken. 

All of the above are what I suffer with, everyone is different and might not have the same symptoms. 

But my aim is to make people aware and hopefully let them know that it is manageable and it can get better.  

If anyone has any questions please just ask! There's always people there for you. 😊💕

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lauren,

You are fortunate that you have discovered what triggers your IBS at such a young age. My IBS started at age 13 and it wasn't until 15 years later that I realized that although I had bouts of diarrhea with terrible cramping, my problem was constipation! My bowels were cramping in order to get rid of the back up. When it made sense to me, that is when I learned HOW to keep my bowels REGULAR which was KEY to avoiding those terrible painful bouts of cramping and diarrhea.