Ideas for helping a 10 year old loose weight

Posted , 5 users are following.

my 10 year old boy is measuring up with a bmi in the 96th percentile (overweight).

he eats the same diet as myself, husband and other son (8), and we are all in the healthy weight range.

i have been monitoring his food intake for about 6 months now and he has a balanced diet, rarely has any sweets or junk food and never has fizzy drinks/ sugar loaded drinks.

i have noticed that he opts out of any physical activity - we used to have a trampoline, but got rid of it due to him complaining that his back hurt every time he went on it (got him checked out at Dr but nothing wrong), i overheard him saying he doesn't run during pe due to his asthma (he has mild asthma, just like myself, has never had an asthma attack and it mainly affects him when he has a cold and usually overnight - I've not known it to affect him during physical activity) and he generally just seems anti sports (never been into rugby, football, tennis etc).

My question is - how can I motivate him to get moving? If he carries online this he will be extremely unhealthy and I'm also worried about potential bullying when he starts senior school next year (he is short for his age so looks quite short and dumpy compared to his peers).

i have made him aware of the benefits of eating healthy and keeping active, I don't want to make him self conscious though and then weight becomes an issue. I need a balance between forcing him to get out there and become active and being supportive to let him know I'll love him no matter what his body shape is. It's hard to know how I can do this. Does anyone have any tips to help and also any ideas of what activities I can encourage him to do?

tia.

0 likes, 5 replies

Report / Delete

5 Replies

• Posted