Immunesuppresant drugs

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi 

I am experiencing another flare up after being in remission,i am on steroids but they dont seem to be getting the inflammation down! I am worried the consultant will want to put me on immunesuppresant drugs instead of pentasa but i have heard they arent good as you need to stay away with people who have flu,colds etc i work in an office so this isnt possible!anyone have any experience of these drugs?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi charliem I was on methotrexate for quite a while when everything else failed and felt a lot better. At the time I worked in a school and as you can imagine was worried about the infection aspect but was fine. Just be sensible about hand washing etc and ask those you work with to let you know if they or anyone in their family have anything like chickenpox or shingles.

You probably catch most things from travelling or shopping anyway so need to outway the risk and the chance of feeling better and getting a loo free life back. Talk to your doctor, good luck.

• Posted

Hi Nannylin,

Thank you for your reply, it is very scary reading up about all the different drugs as they seem to increase the risk of various other illnesses!  How long did it take for them to start working for you? I am trying to get some background info before i see my nurse. Do you not get any of the side effects of flu,colds etc? 

Thank you for your help its good to speak to someone 

• Posted