Increased TSH level

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hii,

Recently diagnosed with Thyroid, TSH : 9.22, T3 : 112, T4: 8.7, Vitamin D : 8.4ng/ml , Vitamin B 12: 137 pg/ml. Hb: 9.22 . is it very serious condition 

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hello Archana:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease since 1987.

Thyroid disease is very treatable.  Hypothyroid disease can be from a family trait or a problem from a nasty virus called Epstein-Barr.  Some people are born with it.

Your blood work  T3 and T4 are 2 of the major hormones in the thyroid and the levels shoud be the floowing.

T3-   2.6 to 5.7 and Ithink you meant 1.12 not 112.  So you would be low

T4-   9 to 19  and you are at 8.7 so it looks a bit low there.

TSH is a sensor hormone called Thyroid Stimulating Hormone.  It should be  0.45 to 4.50. This hormone gives an overall view of how the gland is working.

You are 9.22 which means you are HYPO.  Higher end is HYPO (under active) and low end is Hyper (over active).

We can live good lives as long as you take your thyroid medication everyday.

Levo must be taken without food and you must wait 1 hour before eating. Food will block the medication.

I hope this helps,

Shelly

• Posted

Hi ShellC19. 

I just saw your reply that it has to be “1.12” not the “112”. 

I just received 2 of my results so far and they are:  “T-S is  .9”; and “T3 is ‘112’”

I went back and double checked b’cuz of what you said. What it means, I have no idea. I only know I’ve felt horrible for months, gained 70 lbs in 6 months & cant lose it. My dr told me “go to weight watchers/ all newlyweds gain weight!”  I’ve changed drs! Serious Thyroid problems run in family!  Do you know what I’m facing?  Waiting on rest of the tests. 

• Posted

Hello Jane: