Increasing dose from 15 mg to 20 mg

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi,

16 days ago my doctor increased my dosage from 15mg to 20mg because the 15 wasn't really helping me anymore with my anxiety and depression. For 10 days I had side effects (decreased appetite and feeling really tired) these have decreased thankfully and I guess I may feel slight improvement- how long should I give the new dosage to fully work? My doc told me to give it for 4 weeks and if I dont see much improvement he will switch to another ssri. 

Thanks for the replies

Jordan

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Jordan... I'm not a pro at this medication but I am a pro so da speak on aniexty and depression... I feel like it really has a lot to do with how long u have suffered with the issues and how your body adjusts to the medication..I started about 6 weeks ago on Lexapro but had to start slow and my doses are spaced out 6 hours apart right now 9am.. 3pm.. And 9pm... @2.5 mg. per dose.. So when u r talking about a much higher dose I'm not to sure as to how long .. But with me as soon as I started the Lexapro is started helping with my panic & aniexty but the depression issue took several weeks like just a few days ago I started feeling better as far as depression and that flat feeling... Just give your self some time and stay in contact with your Dr. About your concerns... And keep on posting.. Take Care and God Bless..😊

• Posted

Hi Nickie,

Thanks for replying. I'm going to give the new dose 4 weeks and see how i feel- hopefully a lot better! Hope you continue to feel better.

Best wishes

Jordan

• Posted

Hi Jordan,