Inflammation Diet

Posted , 8 users are following.

One of my doctors told me lose weight ( I gained weight due to depression from PHN).

Eat a diet that lowers the inflammation in your body, won't get rid of PHN will help with the pain as PHN is inflammation of the nerves.

Anybodies thoughts?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

I'm not sure about any specific diets that lower inflammation, but I have noticed that my weight fluctuates a lot depending on my medication and the doses. 

• Posted

If you mean depression caused over-eating, I could see weight gain from that. However, for me both the Gab and inactivity caused weight gain. Plus, I have to admit, it was Christmas Cookie season and not-moving plus enjoying my cookies (I am a REALLY good baker, she said modestly) was a bad combination.

However, as I started to feel better and I could walk more, I got more motivated to cut back on my eating and eatier healthier.

As far as a specific diet, a quick search shows it's basically the typical, good advice to have more fruits and vegetables, avoid sugar, increase fiber, avoid bad fats (saturated) and more of the good ones. I have a terrible sweet too and I just realized something! I've cut back on sweets the last 3 months and ate even more fruits and vegetables than I used too and I'm feeling better!

Is that co-incidence? I'm more active, so I feel better, I'm losing weight, my depression is better, my stamina is better, I've returned to a more "normal" life...Hmm, maybe the change in eating has helped? Who knows.

• Posted