Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi,

I'm very new to this and not sure if I've posted in the correct part, sorry if I have.

For years I have been told I have IBS, then one day I got a constant pain in my left hand side that would not go away with regular pain killers. So I had many blood tests and a stool sample. A few days later I received 3 missed calls from my doctor which made me so anxious and scared. I called her back to be told my fecal calprotectin has flagged high and that it would be some sort of IBD. can anyone explain this further for me? My brother has Crohn's disease and my dad has ulcerative colitis. So she has assumed I have one of these. Although on doing some research I have found that an inflamed bowel could mean cancer? I am very anxious and can't take my mind off this thought. Because my pain is constant and feels like it is radiating from my side to my back.

In information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi!

Sorry to hear you're having trouble.

Calprotectin is a protein released by immune cells. So if your levels are above a certain level it's a sign that you have inflammation in your digestive system, likely to be your colon.

It is possible that inflammation can be caused by gastroenteritis but with your family history of inflammatory bowel disease and your history of IBS it would indicate that unfortunately you probably have a form of IBD too.

Having IBD does slightly increase your risk of Bowel cancer but is certainly not an indication you have Bowel cancer so don't worry about that.

Although not nice, having IBD doesn't mean the end of the world many many people can go on to live very good lives and doesn't stop them from achiving anything.

In a strange way I'm glad I have ulcerative colitis now, I've had it for 8 years and although it's been challenging, I'd say it's hanged my life for the better.