Initial Diagnosis of possible Diverticular disease

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi, I am completely new to this, and would welcome some help. At the beginning of July this year I started having pains in the lower left side of my stomach and had a full body sweat with nausea. I went to my Doctors who after giving me a blood test and a stool test (both which were ok) has suggested I have (Diverticulitis) I have been referred to the Colorectal Surgery team, of which my first appointment is not until the 29th of August this year. Since my original appointment with the Doctor, I have had another fever attack and pains in my stomach (always on the lower left side) I know I am a bit premature with this question, but do sufferers of Diverticuler Disease always have a constant ache in the lower left stomach, and also this terrible nausea.. Thanks for your help in this.

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

They referred you straight to a colorectal surgeon??? Not a GI. Did they do a CT? How do they know what they are dealing with,, this seems strange. Did he give you antibiotics?
    • Posted

Yes, the Doctor has referred me to an initial discussion with the Colorectal Surgery team. I have had 2 lots of antibiotics. I have not had a CT Scan or a Colonoscopy. Perhaps this is what the Colorectal Surgery team want to do initially.?
    • Posted

Hi Norman, do you live in the UK?  After my first attack, my GP did blood tests which came back negative for food poisoning etc.  I then had to wait 6 weeks for a sigmoidoscopy, followed a week later for a colonoscopy.  A couple of non-cancerous polyps were removed and evidence of diverticular disease was found.  I would have thought that this would be the normal investigation in the UK.

• Posted

Are you in the US? We normally would see a GI doctor first and they would order th CT etc but they may be different if you are somewhere elss. 
  • Posted

Hi Norman,