Insomnia/sleep anxiety

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello all, I'm new to insomnia, and feel I'm losing my mind, I've always slept like a log all my life until June this year, it started with a restless night sleep, then then for the next week, the sleep got worse, from a normal 7 hours to 3...I visited my doctor who prescribed antihistamines, which worked fine and I got over it until last week!! I had the restless night, and two nights following, I then resorted to taking an antihistamine, and then found it had no effect and I was up until 04.45 before unknowingly falling asleep...since then for 5 nights, I've had between 3 and 4 hours if I'm lucky, itsit's now come to the point where I find going to bed fills me with anxiety and I just lay there tossing and turning all night...I'm a healthy 47 year old m, a regular gym user, happily married and and have a good job...I'm not depressed...I visited my doctor again today and was told that 3 hours sleep a night isn't dangerous to health..of which I find that difficult to belive...ive tried deep breathing, soft music, meditation, warm drink, magnesium oil, massage...nothing is working to get me to fall asleep when I should, any help to rid me of this would be gratefully received...and to know I'm not alone..

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted

This sounds exactly like me last year, i went from a person who sleeps like a log, to really bad insomnia and sleeping tablets, and believe me when i say it does get better! Ive found listening to the telly helps me when i'm having a night like this now, i turn it on really quietly (normally 'Friends' cos its so lighthearted) close my eyes and just listen to the words and i stop stressing about going to sleep and then i actually do go to sleep! I also found the Puka Night Time Teas help, i usually have one to unwind before bed! Hope this helps!

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!