interstitial cystitis??

Posted , 3 users are following.

I went to Dr 4 weeks ago with suspected uti. Had 3 days of antibiotics and felt better for about a week. Symptoms came back. Urine test clear but was given 7days of antibiotics anyway. I'm wondering if it could be interstitial cystitis? My symptoms are urge to pee often.. no pain, no blood. My lower abdomen and bladder area is uncomfortable but not unbearable- feels almost like permanent period pain Seeing as I had a total hysterectomy 8 years ago it's not that! I'll go back to Dr after having the antibiotics if no better.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Caz, I have was diagnosed with ic in 2017 but now realize that I've had it longer but didn't realize it. Like you I thought it was uti but no, unlike you I had pain in my bladder and urethra. I'm not a doctor but it does sound like ic. Try not to drink any fruit drinks , coffee, tea. There is a diet list on the

Ic network, just type it in and it should come up. Theres alot of things you shouldn't eat or drink. Most important dont take in anything with

Acid in it. You might not have it but it wouldn't hurt to eat and drink this way until your appointment. I hope all goes well with appt. Let us know how it goes.

• Posted

Thank you for your reply. Surgery probably won't see me until after the antibiotics that I probably don't need !! I did say to the nurse why give them when it's negative. But she said as they are for bladder only it will be fine to take them.

• Posted