Iron store and anaemia.

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi, just trying to understand iron store measurement, I think my GP said said my iron store was 138 and this is low, when I look iron store normal levels online seem to say different amounts anyone have any knowledge on iron store readings and normal levels UK, thanks.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Interesting question! I tried to have a look, but I have seen a variety of answers! One source said 30-300 for men and 15-200 for women.  I don't know if this is reliable. I didn't ask what mine was when it was considered low so I have no idea from personal experience either.  I'm hoping somebody else has a more helpful answer for you! 

• Posted

Hi seems a complicated issue Anaemia, you have iron store and the iron whats in blood, I think Iron is stored in cells the liver etc, stored in a protein called ferritin, when your body requires more iron this is then moved to another protein transferrin and into the blood, RA tends to cause anaemia my iron store was good for a long time and my blood iron is always on the low side, but now the store is down so I've been put on iron supplement to raise the store can't do nothing about raising the blood iron, and then there's vitamin B12 its relevant in anaemia as well.

• Posted

I should clarify that I looked up ferritin level as I understand this is the reading that is important when looking at iron store.  I could be wrong though! 

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!