Is anyone else taking Citalopram and Lorazepam together?

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi all, newbie here. I was prescribed these to take together 5 weeks ago. My doctor said the Lorazepam would help with my insomnia and getting through the initial weeks, when you can actually feel worse at first. I'm starting to feel better but the last few days my sleep has got worse again. I'm Interested to hear anyone else's experiences. Thanks in advance ????

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

I take lorazapam along with Citalopram. I find it make the anxiety of the early weeks and months tolerable. They have been very helpful and have not needed it increase my dose of 1mg daily. I take periodic breaks of one or two days to prevent tolerance and dependence. It helps me. 
    • Posted

Hi Kaycee, thanks for the reply. How long have you been taking this combo and what dosage of Cit are you on, if you don't mind me asking? I have been on 10mgs of Cit and 0.5mgs of Lorazapam as I find I feel too doped the next day on anymore.

• Posted

I take 1 mg of Lorazepam & 30 mgs of Citalopram. I take the Lorazepam 3 or 4 times weekly. 

• Posted

It will depend be more easier for you with that combo of meds..I take xanex and cit...and it's a great combo..I also take when needed ...but if your having issues sleeping. .I think ziplocone would be better..don't you think.

• Posted

Hi lois, I have never been prescribed Xanex before, don't think it's available here in New Zealand. Good to hear it's working well for you though. How long have you been taking that combo? I worry about becoming reliant on the Lorazapm as my doctor has warned me it can be addictive.

I take it you mean Zopiclone? I have taken this before and found it didn't work as well for me as the Lorazapam. 

• Posted