Is it ok to ignore pain and carryon doing jobs

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi everyone,  I am a newbie and only diagnosed in October.  On Sulfasaluzine but not working.  Seeing rheumy in couple of weeks.  Can anyone answer ny question.  I have been having a lot of pain as have RA in lots of joints.  Usual exhaustion etc. too.  But I don't want to give in so have been doing decorating in my hall way.  Just painting and decorating.  But it hurts - a lot.  After I stop I am absolutely wiped.  Can you tell me if carrying on and ignoring pain will do any damage to my joints.  I am a pretty active and practical person and do decorating and garding etc. etc.

Thanks.  Gill

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

As long as you're on medication, I don't think it will do any damage. We're supposed to keep moving, even during flares (although that is next to impossible for me) so as long as you get your rest I would think you would be OK. Rest is extremely important!
  • Posted

Hi

I saw a physiotherapist and occupational therapist about 3 months after diagnosis. The physio said important to keep joints moving and gave me lots of low impact exercises like opening and closing fingers, bending knees up,curling and uncurling toes- basically to keep a range of movement. The OT stressed the importance of not straining joints- ie find other ways to do things so you re not carrying heavy bags on wrists and shoulders, or putting strain on any joints.

So I think you do have to think round it a bit. I do decorating too.using a brush is not a strain. But I find somewhere to put paint pot down so I am not holding it for too long. I found I couldn't keep my arms up in the air as long as I used to so I d vary where I was painting. I try to avoid awkward finger stuff like opening tins. And actually I just can't go on as long as I used to or stand for any length of time without a rest. But my RA is pretty under control.