Is it too late for me to get help for my mental health?

Posted , 3 users are following.

like the title says, I'm just wondering if it's too late for me to seek professional help. ever since I've moved out of my parents house and into an apartment, I've been feeling good about how far I've come in life, and finally having the independence I have been craving for many years. recently though I haven't been feeling as good, I come back home feeling stressed, my diet isn't the best and I'm slowly gaining weight as a result of said diet. I'm constantly worried about bills and whether or not I'll be able to move out of state in a few months or a year from now, and I'm constantly agitated from being at the place I'm working at now. not only that but I feel more depressed than anxious as well. has anyone else felt like this in their lives, and what sort of professional help is out there for something like this?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Edited

Hi Ef4468,

Sorry to hear about what you are going through. It is NEVER too late to get professional help! It sounds like you have a good understanding that you are depressed and have anxiety. If you don't have friends or family that could recommend personally a good therapist, then get a list of numbers and ask if the therapist has experience with depression and anxiety.

I have had these things in the past as well and that is how I chose therapists. Sometimes I would meet with one and I wouldn't click with the person and I would try someone else until I did click.

It is always helpful to talk about things that you struggle with to get the outside perspective. I never understood how it helps...but it has helped me throughout my life.

I am curious why you are wondering if it is too late for you?

• Posted