Is it worth going on medication for depression?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've just reached out to my GP about suffering with depression for about 4 months now. He gave me many options, one of which was starting to take medication. I said I'd go away and think about it.

Researching it, I've found out that some people don't even notice an effect. And coming off the medication can cause serious problems.

So would it be worth me taking up the option of medication? Or will self/professional help be better?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Rachel,

I have just signed up as I myself was diagnosed with depression 6 years ago. I'm not a doctor but I am an

Effexor patient on day 6 of withdrawal... Hence asking people who know from a personal experience themselves. I totally admire your thoughts on having to think about your options.

I really wish now I did, before pumping my body of this particular toxin. I'm usually a very strong person always a can do myself approach.. But now today is the first day I can't do it!!! ( myself)

Even having a shower is to keep the door open listen for me... I don't fall!!

Be careful if you decide on the medication approach, it's a personal journey ( depression in my view).

I may as well say it,, withdrawals on this drug is an experience I will never forget..

Take care and go easy on you smile

• Posted