Is Laziness and Lack of Hygiene connected to Autism?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi - i have a twin brother, 55, who I suspect has suffered Autism all his life - never diagnosed. His hygiene is almost non existent and he must be told to shower/shave etc. He is also bone lazy - which I suspect is learned having had me doing all the chores as a kid and parents who have endlessly enabled him. Are these symptomatic of Autism?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I'm not a doctor, but I would say that it doesn't have to be autism; it could be severe depression or personal problems. You may want to have him tested if he will consent to it, but it really just depends on the circumstances. If this person is in a situation where he doesn't need to dress well or interact with people regularly, it may just be a preference. 

Autistic people tend to exhibit maybe some of those symptoms sometimes, but with them it's usually because of  the way the clothes feel or other sources of discomfort. 

• Posted

Hi knd39079 - thank you for your response. Yes, depression runs on both sides of the family - we all have it, but he is the only one who is slovenly. He has been on unemployment for years and pretends that he is constantly on the verge of a job. I think that is because mother dearest, who is all about aesthetics rather than reality, has constantly placed the expectation that he should be like everyone else, and he keeps playing that game because it is easier than dealing with the criticism she gives. She is one of those persons who refuses to accept there are mental issues in the family because it somehow reflects on her.
  • Posted

I am pretty much the same. Have terrible hygene, suspect I have autism. One time I was looking it up online I saw it suggested that because autistics need routine, if they don't form the routine they become slovenly. Since he is 55 and I am nearing 40, it is probably too late for either of us diagnosis or not.

• Posted