Is my shortness of breath caused by this soft mattress??

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello all,

I pretty can pin point when my shortness of breath started. I've been temporarily staying at my mum's on a very soft and not new mattress. Where I was before, house sharing my mattress was soft there. I've slept on this mattress at my mum's before.

Anyway I'm in no pain, I have no constant cough. And if I cough up saliva/flem it's clear. My upper back twinges in the night if I wake up and fidget! When I get up there is some discomfort. I cough a few times there's some discomfort then. But once I'm moving about, stretched a bit I'm fine. Minus the slight shortness of breath/tightish chest. Had this for 3-4 weeks.

I played tennis last Monday. I work as a gardener. One or two gardening jobs have left me slightly extra short of breath lately.

I suffer from Hayfever. Have a very sneezy nose! This time of year when the air gets damper I might have a cough for a short while while in the morning. But then it's gone. It's like I'm clearing my pipes!

Maybe I've developed a form of mild asthma?

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks, Matt

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted

Sleeping habits play a huge part in daily breathing and heart and mind health. Soft mattresses effect muscles and breathing to a degree, but they do not cause really problematic circumstances. I think you should exercise and take in more fresh air.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!