Items I need for post THR (raised toilet seat, crutches etc): does the hospital provide them or do t

Posted , 16 users are following.

Hi all, my LTHR is fast approaching and I've done no preparation at all! Can You clarify one or two things please.

Does the hospital provide the post THR surfer items to be used imputing the recovery period, or is it my responsibility to buy these items myself? What items does the hospital provide, and what are the essential items that I need to buy myself? The heavier items that the hospital provides, do they send them to me before the operation or do I take everything with me when I leave the hospital post operation?

Thx, Harry

1 like, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Since I am a military veteran and this is a service connected disability I had my surgery done in a veteran's hospital and they paid for everything. They had a physical therapist and a nurse come to my house twice a week and made sure I had everything I needed at home before I even had the surgery. It has been a good experience.
    • Posted

Thanks Chris, and good for you! I wish I was a military veteran! But thanks to the good people on this forum I am getting there. I think I know what to do and what to get before the big day. Cheers, Harry
  • Posted