jimjames' on-off strategy for CIC working?

Posted , 9 users are following.

For the past 10 days I have been suffering with a prostate bleed from one of my self-catherizations (CIC). I have been doing CIC due to BPH for 4 years now with no issues.

To try and let the wound heal my urologist said I should try to reduce the number of CICs from 4 to 2 a day. I still have good NVs between CICs.

So for the past 4 days I've reduced CICs from 4 or more to 2 mainly during the night.

During this time I have found that my NVs have dramatically INCREASED in frequency and intensity to as much as 300 cc at a time! For the past 24 hrs I only self-cathed one time at 2 am (still with bleeding) but this morning I had a great NV for the first time in years!! Usually I awake at 6 am in full retention. So far today I have had 4 great NVs and feel that my bladder is empty. Wierd!

A few years ago jimjames posted about giving CIC a rest for a while and let the bladder take over. He had good results with that strategy. I wonder if that is at work here? Nothwithstanding the bleeding I haven't felt this good for years. No Foley for me today!

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

That's the idea. You're rehabbing your bladder by emptying it.

• Posted

Happy to hear of your progress! I haven't had a NV since beginning CIC 6 months ago...keeping my fingers crossed for a breakthrough like yours! Curious if you have always had NVs while doing CIC or if they started during the 4 years you were self-cathing?

Patrick

• Posted

Hi Patrick,