Joints popping and cracking

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, I have had chronic pain for two years but only just been diagnosed with FM. Just wondering if the popping snapping crunching and grinding is part of it. I wasn't like this before. And my dr said it's a part of aging WHATEVER. This is NOT normal clicking and popping. Sometimes I feel like bones are out of their sockets. It's especially bad in my neck and shoulders and sometimes I feel like my neck won't be able to hold my head up for much longer. And it seems to be progressing to more and more joints.

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Edited

Hi jazzy,

With tight back and neck muscles your back and neck can pop and give a cracking sensation, this is to do with the tight tendons and ligaments, I would suggest you look into a massage or see a chiropractor. I have Fibro and suffer from the same, more so when I’m coming up for a flare. I’m a remedial/sports therapist and complementary therapist, see a lot of patients with Fibro and massage does help. I get aching in my joints, tiff ness and poping which is my romboids in my back. 

Heat helps, a simple hot water bottle can help ease the pain and helps to bring the healing cells, nutrition to the area of concern to sooth the area, also a bath and hot blanket. Not ideal in this weather but when you don’t feel great I usually feel cold.

Hope this helps x

• Edited

Thank you so much for getting back to me! Have tried a lot of different styles of massage, physio, chiropractic, acupuncture...No luck unfortunately. Currently seeing a bowen therapist, will see how that goes. But yeah it's awful, tendons snap and the sensation is quite frightening. And the popping and grinding is constant.

Again thank you for taking the time x

• Edited