Just been diagnosed with Cushing's

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all, 

I'm totally new to all this but I was diagnosed with Cushing's disease last Sunday and am now awaiting a date to have a few more tests and then to have the tumour on my pituitary gland removed. I'm 28 years old and I think I've had it a while (3yrs maybe?) but didn't bother going to the doctors cause I thought the weight gain and bruising etc was just down to probably drinking too much wine and generally being clumsy and walking into things! I've put on about three stone (gone from a 10 to a 16 - I'm 5ft4 and for me, that's the worst bit (I don't sleep well either but it's the feeling fat and ugly that really hurts.) I'm really nervous about the surgery, mainly the recovery as I've heard it's pretty bloody tough but the only thing that's keeping me going is the weight loss. I SO HOPE I LOSE THE WEIGHT because I work in the music industry which, isn't exactly the most compassionate and caring place to be when it comes to looks etc and It's stopped me from going to meetings and working with people I haven't seen for a year or two as I think they just think I've become a whale!! I don't know the date of my surgery but I'm soooooooo desperate for this weight to go!!!

I know everyone is different but how long will it take?! I don't eat badly!

XXXX

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted