Just got a diagnosis!

Posted , 3 users are following.

I was referred by my GP to a neurologist as I have had a couple of falls and my balance has been Very poor since I was diagnosed with a viral illness causing dizzy spells. I saw the neurologist nd explained I also had lots of headaches, she ordered an MRI and it showed multilevel spondylitis degenerative changes at the cervical spine level. I don't see her again for 4 months and am not sure whatThis will mean for the future. I work as a midwife and are finding the shift patterns hard going but I only have 5 years before I can retire and I don't want to stuff up my pension! Is there anything I can do to make the balance issues and headaches better?

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

have you thought about tablets that you take for vertigo. my GP has prescribed them for me because my dizziness came on worse when i had facet joint injections(well thats what he thinks) had dizziness before but they seem to be not to bad!(still there) and as for headaches i find heat helps i have a couple of microwavable soft toys granddaughter loves them and when she is tired i just pop them in and heat them up. if you could just have ten mins and put them on your neck and close your eyes it might help! could you not self medicate? i use anadine liquitab might get rid of it or might just ease. it does not move mine but i have other health issues.but it might do you some good i hope these are a litlle bit of help to you.   smile rolleyes
  • Posted

Hi Sue

i am also a midwife who has had to retire early due to cervical neuropathy caused by a fall.

i don't think there really is any solution, I have had a cervical epidural which did help.

i am wondering if the condition we have is due to repetitive strain injury?

i know several colleagues who are suffering from cervical pain, especially on the right hand side.