Just had mastectomy, what next?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hallo, this is my first time here. I had a mastectomy and sentinel node surgery 4 days ago. I had DCIS intermediate with 10 cm spread. I get results in 6 days. As I understand it the cancer could have become invasive via the lymph nodes and/or into the chest area. Nobody has really explained the possible further treatments. Has anyone had any experience of this or do you have further knowledge? Thanks.

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I can't answer those questions. I want to tell you I have said a prayer over you. I know you must be nervous

Sherrie

• Posted

Firstly I want to say how sorry I am and that I hope you are getting good medical care at such a worrying time,

Everyone is different so your path may be different from me but I hope my story may reassure you. I had a similar diagnosis to you. After a radical mastectomy in June 2007 I was given chemotherapy (doses every 2 weeks July 2007-Oct 2007) and radiotherapy (Nov-Dec 2007). My tumour also tested positive for herceptin and oestrogen so I had herceptin Oct 2007-Oct 2008. I still take the aromatase inhibitor anastrozole which stops oestrogen production.

I feel battered by the whole experience but I am still here (!). I got help on dealing with it all from both Macmillan counsellors and The Haven which also offers complimentary therapies like acupuncture, meditation etc. Since then Maggie's Centres have started to appear - I'd have used them if I could.

Other thing I had was manual lymphatic drainage which completely cured the lymphodoema I started to get at one point.

Wishing you well in all respects, 

Caroline

• Posted