Just out of Hospital after ileostomy.

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi all,

New here. Diagnosed with UC in 2003,10 + years on Prednisolne, Asathiaprine, Pentasa, finally Infliximab when nothing else worked. Hospitallised Jan this year, in three weeks and finally had to have ileostomy. So I now have the dreaded bag. It's not THAT bad to be honest, but only been out three weeks. I'm worried about going back to work, I'm an Electrician, and it's very physical. I'm told 13 weeks from the op, so 10 weeks now, that sound about right?

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Chris.....how are u this week.Hoping u r continuing to improve.  Also a? For u.  Did u suffer from fatigue during ur time of uc and if so do u now notice this disappearing. I always thought it was due to bleeding and low iron stores bot apparently study has been done and fatigue is a symptom of uc.  I was wiped today. I get up in mornings with low grade tiredness which gets worse as day goes on ! I was putting it down to my age but after reading info on it think it's the uc, so now I'm curious if post surgery uc ers feel less fatigued, if at all,  and at least that would be another reason for making surgery worthwhile. I'm tired off being so under productive. I like to b busy most of the time instead of lying around. Ta MJ
    • Posted

Hi Mary,

Yeah not too bad this week, I still get very tired, but that's just post surgury I think. I'm still reducing the Steroids, on 20mg / day now dropping to 15mg next week, so they give me a boost.

I was always tired during the time I had UC, so I'm looking forward to getting completely off ALL meds so that I can remember what it's like to have normal energy levels again!

Hope you are OK?

CW.

• Posted

I'm glad to hear of ur continued improvement.  Are u just on the reducing dose from the uc pre surgery.