Just started Methotrexate

Posted , 7 users are following.

I was diagnosed at age 35 when I lost my first child as still birth. My initial was anti-cardio lipin antibody syndrome, protein C and S complications. I was told at time it would manifest as one of the auto-immune diseases. I had manageable pain, never took more than a Tylenol. I am a police trainer and on my feet for up to 12 hours. As I aged I would notice swollen feet mainly left. Everything always ck out fine. 2014 I had catastrophic injury to shoulder requiring 4 surgeries ending my career at 50. At this point my markers for RA was off charts and fibromyalgia kicked in for giggles. I have resisted medication bc I thought it was age, over weight from being sedentary, blah, blah. Pain unbearable daily - managed bc of shoulder with oxycodone. Want to come off that so decided to go RA drug methotrexate. 2 weeks in - pain considerably less but I feel horrid days 2-4 with nausea, energy, tired and like a truck hit me on day 6 until next dose. This will be my 3rd dose and I now have a burning sensation in my esophagus to my stomach, thinning hair, and what I think is quite possibly hives. Has anyone experienced this? Does it get better? Is there another better drug. I need HELP please.

0 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

• Posted

Sorry to hear this!  Do you take it in pill form?  From all that I've read about Metho people are suggesting injections that don't cause stomach upset.  Can't give you any info on all the other side affects!

I wish you luck!

• Posted

I take (took) pill form 15mg per week (6 - 2.5 mg tabs). After just two doses progression of side effects ; felt as if my insides and skin were burning. 4 Benadryl later and no ease of pain. ER diagnosed UTI and lung infection. Opportunistic - I guess meaning peripherally caused? I'm stopping this med... I will either have to find another or go holistic or deal with it. Feeling like this is crazy.

• Posted