Just Started Today

Posted , 8 users are following.

Okay, so I forced myself to take my Duloxetine (Cymbalta) 20mg this morning. It's been about 6 hours. I've had three panic attacks because I don't like taking meds. Relatively calm now, but started feeling nauseated trying to eat lunch and feel like vomiting. Also have a funny feeling, like I'm not all there? If that makes sense. Kinda floaty, like my body is weird to me. Is this normal? How long does it last?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Is it the first time you've taken Duloxetine? It takes a few days to settle, I wouldn't advise anyone take Duloxetine as it's a nightmare of a drug to come off.

• Posted

It is my first time taking it. I know about the withdrawals. I was on Venlafaxine (Effexor) for a very long time and cut cold turkey it at 150 mg. That was the worst experience. My med management doctor told me that Cymbalta is gentler than Effexor is with withdrawals (but they still exist), and wanted to try it because I was good for many years on that SNRI.

Right now I'm just more scared of the side effects of getting on it. I had a bad experience trying to reinstate Effexor and am terrified it'll happen with the Duloxetine too. Am about 7 hours into it now.

• Posted

Hello Arillustrates

The feeling you are having are normal,and will pass soon. I started on 20 mg daily taken in mornings and felt nauseous and jittery from day one but that didn't last long tbh. I then increased to 30 mg daily then upto 60 mg daily the dose I'm on just now. I have been taking duloxetine for a year now for fibromyalgia/anxiety/depression and find it very helpful. So stick in there these feelings will soon pass. Feel free to ask me anything anytime.

Regards

Garry

Scotland

• Posted