Just started Vedolizumab for Crohn's , has anyone else used this new biologic??

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've been using Humira for the last 18 months and was ok for 12 months but then Crohn's flared again. I've been put onto a low dose of Mercaptopurine (which seems to be causing itchy skin rash and headaches) and switched biologic to Vedolizumab. I'm due the third Infusion in two weeks then it'll be every 8 weeks after that. I think it's too early to know if it's working, but one things for sure, my body doesn't hurt like it did on the Humira!! 

Has anyone else been on this Vedolizumab and if so, how's it been ??  Anything I need to watch out for, or look forward to???

Thanks. 

Hannah. 

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Did you get widespread muscular pain on humira?
    • Posted

It was more joint pain......knees, hips, shoulders, hands.......even my big toes!!!! So painful and seemingly random.   The doctors figured the side effects were manageable given the Crohn's appeared to be under control. 

However, managing the pain and difficulties in general activities was hard. To the point that my general ability to function normally was seriously impaired. 

The doctors don't seem to acknowledge this........one is expected to just absorb the side effects and carry on. Which I did!!

• Posted

Hi IndieHannah