Just thought it might help if you are new to PMR

Posted , 7 users are following.

Having started my PMR journey 10 years ago and now having experienced my 2nd flare up - having reduced to 2mgs eachtime -  I feel I have a lot of experience but little knowledge or understanding of how PMR works it havoc.   However I am once again trying to be positive !!!! although difficult at times - and I wanted to offer a few tips on self help.  My background is an Occupational Therapist so I have spent many years offering advice on goal setting and aid provision to be independent- both which have been invaluable to the improvement of PMR symptoms.  So I thought I'd share a couple of obvious things but which some people may not intially think about especially when the brain fog/pain fog has a hold. Forgive me if I am speaking to those who have already worked this out for themselves.

?1.  Wear loose fitting warm clothes but with a bit of colour or panache to brighten yourself up - I have two pairs of Supermarket trousers with elastic waist and loose legs that are fairly smart but are not my usual wardrobe type of trousers - but I can pull them on over my feet and pull up and down easily for toileting.  I have also lived the last month in a cope of extra sized loose jumpers - warmth and easier over the head when those shoulder hurt so much.  I top this off wih a scarf of varying colours ( probably as the mood dictates- but hopefully to reflect my need to feel brighter). 

?2   A metre square of fleece material has become a comfort blanket - it is light and easy enough  to manage to get round my neck or shoulders whilst sitting or lying in bed - anything bigger i finds involves too much upper limb activity to get in position to help.