KIdney lab results confusing

Posted , 6 users are following.

My eGFR has dropped from 70 to 55 and holding around 53 for 3 years. Creatinine is up from 1.06 to 1.12. Bun/C ratio 15, albumin 4.1, BUN 17. 

Do I need cystatin c test? I do have trace amount of blood in urine and have had moderate leukocytes in urine off and on for years. I have urinary retention and frequency issues too. 

Ultrasound of bladder and kidneys was normal. Just a cyst on one kidney. 

Also have heart aneurysm, PFO and Factor V Leiden. 

What the heck dies all this mean? 

I have a good doc but I want your thoughts. 

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Ann you have confused me some.  If your creatinine is 1.12 this is in the "normal" range and while I am not a doctor I do not see how this gives you a egfr of just 53.   Your bun/creatinine ratio also is in the "normal" range.  A BUN level of 17 is also in the normal range.  So it seems the only number that is just slightly below "normal" is egfr (although with your creatinine level I don't know how this is the number).  The doctor did an ultrasound and found nothing.   Your PFO must be very minor since you do not mention that any doctor has decided to do any procedure to fix it.  Lastly you say you have a good doctor.  That is most important.  Obviously he has no concerns, so I would say you should not either.

• Posted

Anne,

I'm a firm believer in patients asking their doctors to explain lab results. Our doctors should commit themselves to doing this--they should be able to do it in a way that makes sense to persons without medical degrees.

Does your doctor have a patient portal? If so, you could put your questions into a message you send to your doctor via your patient portal. Either your doctor or his/her nurse should message back yo you with an explanation.

Marj

• Posted