Knee

Posted , 11 users are following.

hi I had New replacement surgery exactly 34 days ago should I be able to put weight on my surgical knee the reason I ask is apparently I am limping and put them away on my good knee and now my good knee is killing me  New replacement surgery exactly 34 days ago should I be able to put weight on my surgical knee the reason I ask is apparently I am limping and put them away on my good knee and now my good knee is killing me 

One more question is how do I keep the swelling down I do I said I even have ice machine I do elevated but my knee is very swollen thanks for all the help ,,

2 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Bosco. I had surgery 5/4. I am not an expert but I would say to just rest more. Walk less. Give both of your legs a chance to get stronger. Everything in both of my legs got sore. Shin, calf, thigh, front of knee, back of knee, ankle, you name it. Just try not to worry, and for me, things started getting better aroind 8 weeks. Ice, elevate, rest, distract yourself (Netflix) and just let your body get well again.
  • Posted

The nurses had me standing by the evening of my surgery. I had a nerve block, so the big issue was locking my knee to take a step. The block was removed the next night, and I was walking with help to the bathroom which was in my room. That afternoon my PT began with a short walk down the hall and back. Putting weight on my surgical knee was expected. I didn't have any trouble doing it and not any real pain from putting weight on it. This was surprising to me considering how painful it had been prior to surgery.

My second knee was easier than my first. This really surprised me because it was my worst knee.

I had TERRIBLE swelling with my left knee ! Nothing seemed to relieve the swelling! The GameReady machine at PT helped the most. It compressed the knee and iced it at the same time.

I still had considerable swelling until about three months that post surgery with my left leg.